sportstapas
A little dishing on sports

Wrong, Wrong, Wrong

Eight months ago I sagely predicted not only that the Saints would defeat the Colts in the Super Bowl, but also that the Colts would build a big early lead and the Colts offense would make a big mistake that would clinch the game for the Saints. Wait, wait, don’t curse me for being an arrogant bastard; this is part of my therapy.  You see, since I’ve been writing my opinionated screeds, that’s pretty much the only thing I’ve predicted correctly and it’s starting to get me down.

whiffed on my 2010 Cleveland Cavaliers NBA Champs prediction, while simultaneously overestimating how good Antawn Jamison was and how much Shaq had left in the tank; I made the case for why Jason Bay would be a better Met than George Foster; and I ridiculed Frank Isola for arguing that Kobe Bryant was still by far the best player in the NBA last year .  Actually, I’ll stick with that one.

The point is, I’m starting to get a little gun shy in making predictions, which is particularly maddening with the MLB postseason about to start, the NFL in Week 4 and the NBA and NHL seasons about to start.  I am going to have to man up and soldier on.  Maybe I can find a way to put my lack of prognosticating ability to some good use.

Oooh, I know:

The New York Yankees are absolutely going to win the 2010 World Series.

One Response to “Wrong, Wrong, Wrong”

  1. Love the post man, great read! I think that the Yankees have an unbelievable offense and that when you look top to the bottom it is seriously unfair to the other teams in the Major Leagues. However, their pitching as everyone knows is quite suspect except maybe for Sabathia. This I think is going to cause issues for them because like any sport you can’t outscore your opponents in the playoffs the same way in which you do during the regular season. Also, you think you could check out my blog? I really want to hear your thoughts. http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2010/10/02/bottom-3/


Leave a Reply

